Our History

We have years of experience caring for families, from all walks of life. Each family comes to us because they know we are leaders in our profession, dedicated to excellence in service, and have the highest integrity.

The Atkins – Lodge Chapel
The Atkins Funeral Home of Lewes, Delaware, was founded in 1895, even though family ties go back to relatives in the funeral industry to 1865 in nearby Milton. Over the years, the funeral home was owned and managed by the Atkins family until 1983 when it was purchased by S. Keith Parsell. It was located at 119 W. 4th Street, Lewes, DE, and a satellite branch at 1580 Highway One, Midway, was operated from 1983-1995.

In October of 1995, both branches were merged into one brand new facility at the corner of Rt.1 and Kings Highway, Lewes, which centrally located the business between the communities of Lewes and Rehoboth Beach. This chapel is the oldest continuing funeral entity in the Lewes-Rehoboth Beach area, even though five other competitors have come and gone.

In 1986 we opened the first crematorium owned and operated by a Licensed Delaware Funeral Director in Kent & Sussex County. In 1995 the crematorium was relocated from Georgetown, Delaware to the Kings Highway location in Lewes, Delaware.

The Hardesty Chapel
The Hardesty Chapel located at 202 Laws Street, Bridgeville, was founded in the year of 1895. On August 1, 2001 the funeral home was purchased from Howard Hardesty following a career in funeral service of over 40 years. Founded in 1895 by his great grandfather, the Hardesty Chapel has served the areas of Bridgeville, Cannon, Seaford, Concord, and across the border towards Denton, MD and Federalsburg, MD.

Quietly tucked away in the peaceful town of Bridgeville known for its nearby orchards and rolling farm land the chapel easily accommodates funerals of 250 persons and has ample parking and tremendous street parking. Built as a new facility in the early 1960s, this building is situated on one floor and easily accessible to the handicapped. In October of 2010 the entire facility was renovated with the latest in sound, video and audio technology along with a total transformation of the facility inside and out. 

The Dodd-Carey Chapel
The Dodd-Carey Funeral Home of Georgetown was acquired in June 1988 from Ronald F. Dodd who had operated the firm since 1957. In 1967, Mr. Dodd acquired the Carey Funeral Home which at that time was his competitor. The Carey Funeral Home also dates back to 1865. 
This chapel is a grand old mansion dating back to the early 1900s. It is located near the center Georgetown, the county seat. The chapel is appointed with a blend of Victorian furnishings as well as a pinch of "Old Sussex County Tradition."

The Clarksville Chapel
This chapel is decorated in shades of soft blue-gray blends with light furnishings to lend it more to the surroundings of the beach area. The Clarksville Chapel will accommodate services of up to 200, with parking for 70 autos.

The Clarksville Chapel was opened in September 1996 in a brand new area where there is no funeral home, however, it is an area of great population and need. Situated on Rt. 26 near the corner of Rt. 17, it is placed in a central location to the communities of Dagsboro, Roxanna, Millville, Bethany Beach, Frankford and Clarksville.